Bar Commission

The Utah State Board of Bar Commissioners is the volunteer board that oversees the activities of the Utah State Bar. The Bar President serves a one-year term. Commissioners serve staggered three-year terms.

President and President-Elect

Cara Tangaro in a blue business suit sitting in a business chair
Cara M. Tangaro
Kim Cordova

The Voting Bar Commission

1st Division Commissioner
J. Brett Chambers
2nd Division Commissioner
Matt J. Hansen
3rd Division Commissioner
John H. Rees
3rd Division Commissioner
Miriam Allred
Professional headshot of Oliva Shaughnessy
3rd Division Commissioner
Olivia Shaughnessy
3rd Division Commissioner
Mark Morris
3rd Division Commissioner
Chrystal Mancuso-Smith
3rd Division Commissioner
Christian W. Clinger
4th Division Commissioner
Tyler Young
5th Division Commissioner
Tom J. Bayles
Public Member Commissioner
Shawn Newell
Public Member Commissioner
Rick Hoffman

Ex-Officio Members

Erik Christiansen
Past Bar President
Erik Christiansen
State ABA Members' Delegate
Nathan D. Alder
YLD Division Representative
Ashley Biehl
Women Lawyers of Utah Representative
Brit Merrill
Utah Supreme Court Representative
Nick Stiles
Headshot of Andy Gonzalez
Minority Bar Association Representative
Andy Gonzalez
Dean S.J. Quinney College of Law
Elizabeth Kronk Warner
Dean J. Reuben Clark Law School
David Moore
LGBT & Allied Lawyers of Utah Representative
Eli McCann
ABA YLD Representative
Ezzy Khaosanga
Bar ABA Delegate
Kim Cordova
Judicial Counsel Representative
Margaret D. Plane
Paralegal Division Representative
Jennifer Carver


Click to listen highlighted text!