# UTAH STATE BAR BOARD OF BAR COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

# MAY 17, 2019

### LAW AND JUSTICE CENTER

**In Attendance:** President H. Dickson Burton and President-elect Herm Olsen.

Commissioners: John Bradley, Steven Burt, Heather Farnsworth, Mary Kay Griffin, Mark Morris, Mark Pugsley, Tom Seiler, Cara Tangaro, and Heather

Thuet.

**Ex-Officio Members:** Dean Robert Adler, Nate Alder, Erik Christiansen, Abby Dizon-Maughan,

Amy Fowler, Margaret Plane, Robert Rice, Kate Convers, Bebe Vanek and

Lorraine Wardle.

**Not in Attendance:** Grace Acosta, Chrystal Mancuso-Smith, and Katie Woods. Ex-Officio

Members: John Lund, Dean Gordon Smith, and Sarah Starkey.

Also in Attendance: Executive Director John C. Baldwin, Assistant Executive Director Richard

Dibblee, and General Counsel Elizabeth A. Wright, and Victoria Finlinson,

Minutes: 9:10 a.m. start

1. President's Report: H. Dickson Burton

- 1.1 Professional Services Tax Follow-up. Dickson Burton reported that the Legislature established a task force to study the issue of tax reform in Utah. Steve Young, a tax lawyer the Bar had recommended for appointment to the task force, was appointed as a non-voting member. Dickson also reported that the tax on professional services bill is probably dead, but the long-term problem of the disparity of sources of tax funding remains. The Commission discussed the fact that lawyers should be part of the solution for the long-term tax issues facing the state.
- **1.2 Reports on Commissioner Visits for Park City Convention Meeting.** Commissioners reported on their efforts to reach out to law firms to encourage Summer Convention attendance.
- **1.3 Review Park City Summer Convention Schedule.** Dickson reported on the new schedule for and the highlights of the 2019 Summer Convention.
- **2.** Action Items. The Commission decided to discuss all award nominees at once.

#### OUT OF ORDER

2.5 Select Other Bar Award Recipients. Cara Tangaro moved to select Dean Robert Adler and Steve Johnson for the Distinguished Service Award. Heather Thuet seconded the motion which passed unopposed.

Heather Farnsworth moved to select Patricia Christensen, Paul Warner and Brooke Wells for the Lifetime Achievement Award. Cara Tangaro seconded the motion which passed unopposed.

- 2.1 Select Lawyer of the Year Award Recipient. Heather Farnsworth moved to select Paul Burke for the Lawyer of the Year Award. Cara Tangaro seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 2.2 Select Judge of the Year Award Recipient. Cara Tangaro voted to select Judge John Baxter for the Judge of the Year Award. Heather Farnsworth seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 2.3 Select Section of the Year of the Year Award Recipient. After discussing the nominees, Cara Tangaro moved to select the Litigation Section for Section of the Year. Heather Farnsworth seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 2.4 Select Committee of the Year Award Recipient. After discussing the nominees, Mar Pugsley moved to select the Bar Journal Committee for the Committee of the Year Award. John Bradley seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 2.5 Select Other Bar Award Recipients. See above.
- 2.6 Confirm Representative to And Justice for All Board. The Bar has a representative on the And Justice for All Board. Nanci Bockelie, the current representative, is stepping down. Heather Farnsworth moved to appoint Jaycee Skinner to serve as the Bar representative. Heather Thuet seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 2.7 Select Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice Nominees. Statute requires the Bar to recommend three lawyers to the Governor so he can select one for appointment to the Commission. Tom Seiler moved to recommend Monica Diaz and Tasha Williams to the Governor. Cara Tangaro seconded the motion which passed unopposed. Commissioners were asked to send John Baldwin the names of additional qualified people so a vote can be conducted for the third recommendation.
- 2.8 Approve Proposed 2019-2020 Budget. Bar Director of Finance Lauren Stout joined the meeting to present the proposed 2019-2020 budget. Before the Commission reviewed and discussed the proposed budget, it considered a letter from the Utah Center for Legal Inclusion (UCLI) asking the Bar for a \$50,000 contribution. Incoming Young Lawyer Division (YLD) President Victoria Finlinson also presented a letter request from the YLD for a \$2000 increase in the 2019-2020 YLD budget. Lauren Stout then presented the proposed 2019-2020 budget. Mary Kay Griffin reported that the Budget

and Finance Committee reviewed and approved the budget. After discussion, **Tom Seiler moved to approve the proposed 2019-2020 budget which includes the \$50,000 contribution to UCLI and will include the \$2,000 increase in the YLD budget.** Mark Morris seconded the motion which passed unopposed.

### 3. Discussion Items.

- 3.1 Well-Being Task Force Draft Report Recommendations. Tabled until next meeting.
- 3.2 Reimbursement for Speakers and Panelists. Tabled until next meeting.

### 4. Information Items.

- **4.1 Report on Bar Survey.** Mark Morris reported that the survey committee had met twice. Important goal is to be able to measure changes since 2011 survey. Committee expects to send out an RFP to potential survey companies within the next 2-3 weeks.
- 5. Luncheon with 50 Year Award Recipients & Leadership Academy.

The meeting adjourned at 11:55 a.m.

# **Consent Agenda**

- 1. Approved Minutes from the April 19, 2019 Commission Meeting.
- 2. Approve Public Member Committee Report.

### **Handouts:**

- 1. Steve Johnson resume.
- 2. UCLI letter request for funds.
- 3. Young Lawyers Division letter regarding 2019-2020 budget.