# UTAH STATE BAR BOARD OF BAR COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

## **JULY 25, 2018**

## SUN VALLEY, IDAHO

**In Attendance:** President John Lund, President-elect Dickson Burton, Commissioners: Grace

Acosta; John Bradley, Steven Burt, Heather Farnsworth, Mary Kay Griffin, Liisa Hancock, Mark Morris, Herm Olsen, Michelle Quist, Cara Tangaro,

Heather Thuet, and Katie Woods.

**Ex-Officio Members:** Dean Robert Adler, Nate Alder, Erik Christiansen, Abby Dizon-Maughan,

Julie Emery, Amy Fowler, Holly Nelson, Dean Gordon Smith, Rob Rice and

Bebe Vanek.

**Not in Attendance:** Kate Conyers; Ex-Officio Member: Margaret Plane

**Also in Attendance:** Executive Director John C. Baldwin, General Counsel Elizabeth A. Wright,

Supreme Court Liaison Cathy Dupont, and Commissioners Elect Mark

Pugsley and Tom Seiler.

Minutes: 12:20 p.m. start

1. Lunch and President's Report: John Lund

- 1.1 Welcome and Review Summer Convention Schedule.
- 1.2 Review 2018-2019 Commission Meeting schedule.
- **1.3 Retreat Information.** Dickson Burton reported that the annual Commission Retreat will take place on August 17 and 18 at the Grand Summit at the Canyons in Park City.
- **1.4 Report on Legal Market Project Status.** The Commission discussed the recommendations of the Committee on Lighthouse Research.
- 1.5 Review Proposals for Attorney's Fee and Advertising Rule Changes. Dickson Burton reported on rule changes other bars are making to remove constraints on lawyers connecting with clients. There will likely be a committee established to consider changes to Utah's rules that will bring the rules in conformity with new technologies and methods for delivering legal services.

#### 2. Information Items

- **2.1 Diversity Reports and IT Department Staffing.** John Baldwin reported on Bar policy changes proposed and approved by the Commission that were implemented over the past year to foster CLE presenter diversity. Policies were also changed to encourage Committees and Sections to foster diverse membership and leadership. The Commission discussed different ways to promote diversity of CLE presenters and the need to promote diversity in the membership of the bar and the judiciary.
- 2.2 Access to Justice Committee Report. Justice Christine Durham, who co-chairs the Committee with Amy Sorenson, reported on the work of the Committee over the past year. Justice Durham reported that the work of the Committee has been that of a steering committee and that soon working committees will be created with the goal of connecting people with legal needs to providers. The Committee sees a need to increase the profiles of service providers and methods for easily connecting providers with those in need. Education and public outreach is a second priority. A third priority is to show the extent of human suffering when people do not get the legal help they need to encourage the legislature and others to provide resources for the provision of legal services.
- **2.3 Supreme Court Committee Review of ABA Report on OPC.** Cathy Dupont and John Lund reported that the Review Committee had finished reviewing the ABA's report and that it would soon make a report and recommendations to the Court.
- **2.4 Supreme Court Committee on Well-Being.** Dickson Burton reported that he and Justice Petersen are co-chairing a Supreme Court Wellness Committee that will look at efforts to promote the well-being of lawyers and that there will likely be recommendations for the Commission to consider.

# 3. Action Items

- 3.1 Approve Creation of Senior Lawyers Section. After the Commission discussed the application, Grace Acosta moved to approve the creation of a Senior Lawyer Section. John Bradley seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 3.2 Appoint Shantelle Argyle & Greg Hoole as Fall Forum Chairs. Herm Olsen moved to appoint Shantelle Argyle and Greg Hoole as Chairs of the 2018 Fall Forum. Grace Acosta seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 3.3 Approve Petition to Increase Pro Hac Fees. After discussion, Heather Farnsworth moved to approved changes to the pro hac vice, an increase the application fee to the same amount as the annual licensing fee for lawyers, and require an annual registration and fee for attorneys admitted pro hac vice. Cara Tangaro seconded the motion which passed unopposed.

4. **New Business.** Herm Olsen discussed a recent letter to the Bar Journal editor and Heather Farnsworth pointed out that Michelle Quist has agreed to Co-Chair the Awards Committee.

# 5. Commission Reorganization

- **5.1 Welcome New Bar Commissioners.** The Commission welcomed new Third District Commissioner Mark Pugsley and new Fourth District Commissioner Tom Seiler.
- 5.2 Appoint Ex Officio Members. Katie Woods moved to appoint the 2018 -2019 Ex Officio members listed below. Michelle Quist seconded the motion which passed unopposed. Past Bar President (John Lund); the Bar's Representatives to the ABA House of Delegates (Nate Alder and Erik Christiansen); the Bar's YLD Representative to the ABA House of Delegates (Bebe Vanek); Utah's ABA Members' Representative to the ABA House of Delegates (Margaret Plane); the Utah Minority Bar Association Representative (Abby Dizon-Maughan); the Women Lawyers of Utah Representative (Sarah Starkey); the LGBT and Allied Lawyers of Utah Representative (Amy Fowler); the Paralegal Division Representative (Lorraine Wardle); the J. Reuben Clark Law School Dean (Gordon Smith); the S.J. Quinney College of Law Dean (Robert Adler); and the Young Lawyers Division Representative (Bebe Vanek).
- 5.3 Approve Executive Committee. Mark Morris moved to appoint Dickson Burton, Herm Olsen, Katie Woods and Cara Tangaro as members of the Executive Committee and John Lund as an ex officio member. Grace Acosta seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 5.4 Adopt Resolution on Bank Signatures. Grace Acosta moved to approve members of the Executive Committee and Rob Rice as signatories on the Bar's checking account. Liisa Hancock seconded the motion which passed unopposed. Rob Rice was added because an additional signatory in Salt Lake City is necessary.
- **5.5 Sign Conflict of Interest Disclosures.** Voting Commissioners signed and submitted conflict of interest disclosures.
- **6. Recognize Retiring Commissioners.** The Commission recognized John Lund's outstanding service as Bar President. The Commission also recognized retiring Commissioners Liisa Hancock and Michelle Quist for their service.
- 7. Executive Session.

The meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

## **Consent Agenda**

1. Approved Minutes from the May 11, 2018 Commission Meeting.