UTAH STATE BAR COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

Wednesday, July 6, 2022

Loews Coronado Bay Resort - Coronado, California

AGENDA

In Attendance: President Heather Thuet, President-Elect Kristin "Katie" Woods, and Commissioners John Bradley Traci Gunderson, Greg Hoole, Chrystal Mancuso-Smith, Marty Moore, Mark Morris, Andrew Morse, Shawn Newell, and Michelle Quist. New Commissioners Cara Tangaro, Beth Kennedy, Tom Bayles, Matt Hansen, and new President-Elect Erik Christiansen.

Ex-Officio Members: Past-President Heather Farnsworth, Kim Cordova, Grant Miller, Tonya Wright, Margaret Plane, Dean Gordon Smith, Camila Moreno, and new Ex Officio member Shalise McKinley.

Not in Attendance: Commissioners Rick Hoffman and Tyler Young, and Ex Officio members Nate Alder, J. Ramzi Hamady, Dean Elizabeth Kronk-Warner, and Brandon Mark

Also in Attendance: Executive Director Elizabeth A. Wright, General Counsel Nancy J. Sylvester, Utah Court Representative Nick Stiles.

1. President's Report: Heather Thuet

1.1 Welcome and Convention Schedule.

Ms. Thuet welcomed the Commission to the meeting and reviewed the Summer Convention schedule.

1.2 Talent Show Contest and Winner

Ms. Thuet reported on the talent show. She noted that there were two winners out of fourteen participants. Ms. Thuet moved to give free admission to the Fall Forum for all participants. Ms. Woods asked whether there were participants from outside of the Wasatch Front and whether it made sense to just give free admission to the winners only. Ms. Thuet confirmed that there were participants from other areas around the state. She said that there were some very talented people

that would be great to recognize. Ms. Wright noted that Ms. Thuet's proposal would come out of the Commission education budget at a cost of \$3,120. Ms. Quist noted her agreement with Ms. Woods on awarding the winners Fall Forum admission, but not all participants. Ms. Thuet's motion was not seconded and thus did not advance.

1.3 2022-2023 Meeting Schedule: Katie Woods

Ms. Woods reported that Commission meetings will be in-person in the coming year, with remote options available. The March meeting will be in St. George, and the October meeting will be in Springdale. The Summer Convention 2023 is proposed to be in Kanab, but that is tentative.

1.4 Commission Retreat October 14-15: Katie Woods

Ms. Woods reported that the Commission Retreat will be held in Springdale, right outside of Zion National Park October 14-15.

2. Action Items:

2.1 Re-appoint Kim Cordova as a Bar ABA Representative

Ms. Quist moved to reappoint Kim Cordova to the position of Bar ABA Representative. Mr. Moore seconded. The Commission approved Ms. Cordova's reappointment.

2.2 Appoint Budget and Finance Committee Members

Ms. Woods announced the proposed Budget and Finance Committee members as follows: Brad Merrill, Rick Hoffman, Tyler Young, Marty Moore, Katie Woods, Todd Gordon (CPA), and Marvin John (CPA), with ex officio members Lauren Stout (Finance Director) and Elizabeth Wright (Executive Director). Ms. Woods moved to appoint the members. Mr. Bradley seconded. The Commission approved the Budget and Finance Committee as proposed.

3. Commission Reorganization:

3.1 Welcome New Bar Commissioners

Ms. Thuet welcomed new Commissioners Cara Tangaro (3rd Division), Tom Bayles (5th Division), Beth Kennedy (3rd Division), and Matt Hansen (2nd Division).

Ms. Thuet then had the Commission meeting attendees all introduce themselves.

3.2 Appoint Ex Officio Members-For Action

This item was tabled until the next meeting pending a complete list.

3.3 Approve Executive Committee-For Action

Ms. Woods announced the following proposed new Executive Committee: Katie Woods, Traci Gundersen, Chrystal Mancuso-Smith, Andrew Morse, Mark Morris, and Erik Christiansen. Ms.

Woods moved to approve the proposed Executive Committee. Mr. Moore seconded. The motion carried.

3.4 Adopt Resolution on Bank Signatures-For Action

The Commission resolved to make the Executive Committee signatories on checks for amounts paid over \$1,000, with Mr. Moore moving and Ms. Quist seconding. The motion carried.

4. Recognize Retiring Commissioners

The Commission recognized Heather Thuet, Michelle Quist, and John Bradley for their service to the Commission.

5. Adjournment.

The meeting adjourned at 2:15 p.m.

CONSENT AGENDA

The following item was approved without discussion: Minutes of the May 26, 2022 Commission meeting.