UTAH STATE BAR BOARD OF BAR COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

JULY 18, 2019

GRAND SUMMIT HOTEL, PARK CITY, UTAH

In Attendance: President H. Dickson Burton and President-elect Herm Olsen.

Commissioners: S. Grace Acosta, John Bradley, Steven Burt, Heather Farnsworth, Chrystal Mancuso-Smith, Marty Moore, Mark Morris, Mark Pugsley, Michelle Quist, Tom Seiler, Heather Thuet, and Katie Woods

Ex-Officio Members: Nate Alder, Erik Christiansen, Abby Dizon-Maughan, Amy Fowler, John

Lund, Margaret Plane, Robert Rice, Dean Gordon Smith, Bebe Vanek,

Lorraine Wardle, and Dean Elizabeth Kronk Warner.

Not in Attendance: Mary Kay Griffin, and Cara Tangaro, Ex-Officio Members: Sarah Starkey.

Assistant Executive Director Richard Dibblee, and General Counsel Elizabeth

A. Wright.

Also in Attendance: Executive Director John C. Baldwin, Utah Courts Representative Cathy

Dupont

Minutes: 7:45 a.m. start

1. President's Report: H. Dickson Burton

- **1.1 Welcome and Review Schedule.** Dickson Burton welcomed Bar Commissioners and reminded Commissioners the Summer Convention schedule of events.
- **1.2 Review 2019-2020 Meeting Schedule.** Herm Olsen introduced the 2019-2020 Bar Commission Meeting Schedule.
- **1.3 Review Retreat Schedule.** Herm Olsen briefly discussed the plans for the August 2019 Commission Meeting and Retreat to be held at the Silver Baron Lodge in Deer Valley, Utah.
- 1.4 Report on Tax Reform Town Hall Meetings. Dickson Burton discussed the need for to be part of the solution for the long-term tax issues facing the state and emphasized the importance for lawyers across the state to participate in the town hall meetings. Dickson reviewed the issues raised and debates that have taken place at the that have already been held.

- 1.5 Report on the Status of the Ethics Hotline. John Baldwin stated that the Office of Professional Conduct will no longer be hosting the Bar's Ethics Hotline. The Bar's General Counsel, Elizabeth Wright and the Bar's Discipline Process attorney, Jeannine Timothy, have taken over the Ethics Hotline until a more permanent solution is found. The Office of Professional Conduct will temporarily assist Ms. Wright and Ms. Timothy with the responses.
- **1.6 Report on the Bar Survey Request for Proposals.** Mark Morris reported that he has had several responses to the Request for a Proposal announcement. The survey committee will meet to discuss the proposals and will prepare a recommendation for the Bar Commission.

2. Information Items.

- **2.1 Report on MCLE Board Proposals to Court.** Chrystal Mancuso-Smith reported on the MCLE Board meeting with the Court to request several rule changes including having lawyer well-being seminars qualify for CLE credit and changing the reporting year from a 2-year cycle to a 1-year cycle.
- **2.2 Report on Legal Market Reform Task Force.** John Lund indicated that the task force has finalized a report to be submitted to the Utah Supreme Court proposing rule changes for ownership of law firms; lawyer advertising; and rules allowing non-lawyers to practice law under regulations other than those controlled by the Bar.
- **2.3 Report on Access to Justice Commission.** The Honorable Christine M. Durham discussed the current activities of the Access to Justice Commission.

3. Action Items.

- **3.1 Approve Well-Being Committee Recommendations.** The Commission voted to approve the recommendations of the Well-Being Committee.
- **3.2 Approve Recommendation on Legal Research Benefit.** The Commission approved the contract with FastCase as the Bar benefit for online legal research.
- **3.3 Approve Request to Support ABA Position.** The Commission approved the request to support the ABA position to increase bandwidth internet access so that rural Utah communities have greater access to legal assistance.

4. Commission Reorganization.

4.1 Welcome New Bar Commissioners. Dickson Burton welcomed newly elected Bar Commissioners Marty Moore and Michelle Quist, and introduced Elizabeth Kronk Warner, Dean of the S.J. Quinney College of Law.

- 4.2 Appoint *Ex Officio* Members. Tom Seiler *moved* and Grace Acosta *seconded* the appointment of the new *Ex Officio* members of the Bar Commission to serve for the 2019-2020 fiscal year, including: H. Dickson Burton as Immediate Past Bar President; Gordon Smith, Dean of J. Reuben Clark Law School; Elizabeth Kronk Warner, Dean of S.J. Quinney College of Law; Jiro Johnson, Utah Minority Bar Representative; Kate Conyers, Women Lawyers of Utah Representative; Victoria "Torie" Finlinson, Young Lawyers Division Representative; Candace Gleed, Paralegal Division Representative; Amy Fowler, LGBT & Allied Lawyers of Utah Representative; Margaret Plane, Utah ABA Members' Delegate; Nate Alder and Erik Christiansen, Bar's Delegates to the ABA; and Bebe Vanek, Young Lawyers Division Delegate to the ABA. The motion was approved unanimously.
- **4.3 Approve Executive Committee.** Herm Olsen *moved* and Grace Acosta *seconded* the appointment of new members to the Bar Commission Executive Committee: Herm Olsen, Heather Farnsworth, Mark Morris, Cara Tangaro, Tom Seiler, and John Bradley. The motion was approved unanimously.
- **4.4 Adopt Resolution on Bank Signatures.** Grace Acosta *moved* and Chrystal Mancuso-Smith *seconded* the motion accepting the Bar Commission Executive Committee as bank signatories. The motion was approved unanimously.

5. Recognize Retiring Commissioners.

Dickson Burton thanked Herm Olsen for his 14 years of service as the 1st Division Bar Commissioner and thanked Grace Acosta for her 3 years of service as a 3rd Division Bar Commissioner. Dickson presented each with plaques. Herm thanked Dickson Burton for his years of service as a 3rd Division Bar Commissioner and as Bar President. He then presented Dickson with a plaque and gift.

The meeting adjourned to an Executive Session at 10:45 a.m.

Consent Agenda

- 1. Approved Minutes from the May 17, 2019 Commission Meeting.
- 2. Approved amendments to the Family Law Section By-laws.