## UTAH STATE BAR BOARD OF BAR COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

# AUGUST 26, 2017

## PARK CITY, UTAH

In Attendance:	President John Lund, President-elect H. Dickson Burton, Commissioners: Grace Acosta; John Bradley, Kate Conyers, Heather Farnsworth, Mary Kay Griffin, Liisa Hancock, Michelle Mumford, Mark Morris, Herm Olsen, Cara Tangaro, Heather Thuet, and Katie Woods.
Ex-Officio Members:	Dean Robert Adler, Nate Alder, Julie Emery, Dani Cepernich, Diana Hagen, Jamie Sorenson, and Angelina Tsu.
Not in Attendance:	Steven Burt, Ex-Officio Members: Amy Fowler, Margaret Plane, Rob Rice, Dean Gordon Smith and Chris Wharton
Also in Attendance:	Executive Director John C. Baldwin, Assistant Executive Director Richard Dibblee and General Counsel Elizabeth A. Wright.

#### Minutes: 9:25 a.m. start

- **1.** Commission Photo. A photographer took a photo of the 2017-2018 Utah State Bar Commission.
- 2. Young Lawyers "Deep Dive" Conclusion. Dani Cepernich presented the Commission with local and national statistics concerning law students and new lawyers. Kate Conyers described the Bar programs for young lawyers which are the NLTP, the YLD and the Leadership Academy. Law students Abigail Brammer and Rebecca Horne, new lawyer Audrey Phillips, NLTP Administrator Emily Lee and NLTP Committee Chair Lesley Manley joined the Commission for an in-depth discussion of issues facing new lawyers, the unique characteristics of the next generation of new lawyers and how the Bar can serve these individuals to help them become the lawyers the public and clients need and engaged members of the Bar.

## 3. Action Items

3.1 Appoint Committee Chairs and Liaisons. Kate Conyers moved to appoint the 2017-2018 Bar committee Chairs. Herm Olsen seconded the motion which passed unopposed. Michelle Mumford moved to approve Commission member liaison assignments to Bar committees and sections with the amendment that Kate Conyers will liaison with the Government and Administrative Law Section and John Bradley will liaison to the Government Relations Committee.

- **3.2** Appoint Access to Justice Coordinating Committee. Heather Farnsworth moved to approve the creation of an Access to Justice Coordinating Committee which will oversee the Bar's access to justice programs and help coordinate efforts in the state. Michelle Mumford seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- **3.3** Appoint Bar Awards Committee. Cara Tangaro moved to approve the creation of a Bar Awards Committee that will review all Bar awards and award nominations to insure the awards are not duplicative and receive meaningful nominations. Liisa Hancock seconded the motion which passed unopposed.

Kate Conyers moved to appoint Heather Farnsworth as Chair of the Bar Awards Committee. Mark Morris seconded the motion which passed unopposed.

- **4. Information Item.** Nate Alder reported on the August 2017 ABA Delegates meeting in New York City.
- 5. Other Business. Item for Action Not Listed On Agenda. After a presentation by Herm Olsen, Herm Olsen moved that the Commission express support for a rule that will allow the lawyer spouses of military members stationed in Utah to temporality practice law in Utah while the spouse is serving in Utah. Michelle Mumford seconded the motion which passed unopposed.
- 6. Executive Session.

## The meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

## **Consent Agenda**

- 1. Approved Minutes from the July 26, 2017 Commission Meeting.
- 2. 2017-2018 Committee Charges
- 3. Practice Pending Admission Housekeeping Rules.
- 4. Law Student Practice Rule Clarifications.