The Ethics Advisory Opinion Committee (“EAOC”) has authority to issue formal written opinions and letter responses to requests for advisory opinions regarding the ethical propriety of professional or personal conduct of Bar members. Its enabling authority is contained in the Utah State Bar Rules Governing The Ethics Advisory Opinion Committee. Its duties, authority and procedures are specifically set forth in Rules of Procedure of the Ethics Advisory Opinion Committee. Requests for opinions may be made by any person with a significant interest in obtaining an advisory opinion on legal ethics. The procedure for making a request for opinion and the required content of the request is set forth in Section III(a) of the Rules of Procedure of the Ethics Advisory Opinion Committee.

Members of the EAOC:

The voting member of the EAOC consist of active members of the Utah State Bar in good standing. The Committee Chair and a member of the State’s judiciary are appointed by the President of the Bar. The remaining voting members are appointed by a selection committee comprised of the Bar President, the Bar Commissioner who serves as a liaison to the Committee and the Committee Chair.

Committee Chair(s):

John A. Snow, Chair
Vancott Bagley Cornwall & McCarthy
36 S. State Street, 19th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Tel: (801) 532-3333
Email: jsnow@vancott.com

Commission Liaison: Tom Seiler
Staff Liaison: Billy Walker

Committee Members: 

Meb W. Anderson mebanderson@utah.gov
Sara E. Bouley sara@actionlawutah.com
Herschel Bullen herschellaw@gmail.com
Cathleen Gilbertcathleen@cgilbertlaw.com
Christopher Glauser - cglauser@mc2b.com
Neil A. Kaplannak@clydesnow.com
Kenneth Lougee - kennethlougee@att.net
Maxwell Miller - mmiller@parsonsbehle.com
Hon Todd M. Shaughnessy
Linda F. Smith - linda.smith@law. utah.edu
Melanie Vartabedianvartabedianm@ballardspahr.com
Gabriel White - gabriel.white@chrisjen.com
Stewart Youngstewart.young@usdoj.gov